I'm awake, damn it!
Bitched at 8:55 a.m. on 2005-01-28

Currently Feeling: awake... egads!
Currently Hearing: peace and quiet. I'm amazed.
Currently Craving: a productive, peaceful day.

It's 4 minutes before 8 o'clock... a.m. I have been awake for awhile already, believe it or not! I have managed to drag my thinning ass out of bed and fix myself a bowl of outmeal and a cup of java. I have even managed to bathe and get myself all sparkly clean and fresh smelling. And all before 9 a.m.

Add this to the fact that Shawn proposed to me last month and we're going to be married in September. And also the fact that Adam and Gena both had babies last year. Are you drawing the same conclusion that I have?

Yes, Sirs! Indeedy wienies! THE LIONS ARE GOING TO WIN THE SUPERBOWL!!! (Next year, of course.)

Because hell surely hath frozen ovah!

In fact, people seemed to be quite tickled to call my house for answering machine updates. I always try to put something witty and humorous and over the past couple of years have actually drawn quite a bit of fan base amazingly enough. (Lotta bored peoples out there!)

But this year, our message was: "You've reached Shawn and Sara. If you're calling to see if Hell has actually frozen, it has. So leave your name, number and a message and we'll get back to you when we have defrosted the phone. Happy Holidays!"

Shawn would roll his eyes and groan everytime the machine picked up. I would just chuckle. Now our message just says something to the fact that we're still in the process of defrosting everything. A little more on the boring side, but I still get to chuckle. So, it's all good really. But I am really starting to draw some blanks now when it comes to creating new messages! So if any of y'all have any ideas- hit me with 'em! LOL!

Shawn and I took a vacation day from work so that we could be up at the hospital to meet with the surgeons and medical team when they discussed what would need to be done and all of the risks involved. I was assured that they would probably not get to her room before late afternoon due to being in surgeries all morning. So we got there around 3 p.m. or so. About 2 hours late, damn it.

Turns out, Mom needs a bypass all right. Without one, she wouldn't be making it very long in life at all. The nurse, Joe, showed us a map of all of the clogged vessels and what not leading to her heart and let's just say that on a 6 lane highway, were you driving a car as big as a matchbox car- you'd be fucked trying to get through! A micro-machine would probably just barely make it! It was definately bad.

So at the ass crack of the pre-dawn hours on Monday morning, Mom's having quadruple heart bypass surgery. And we, her army of love, will all be there waiting ever so impatiently in the wings. I mean, everyone is coming up there with us. Shawn, Shane, Samantha, Nicol and I. Then Mom's siblings, Robert, John, Joan and Delores. Then a few nieces and nephews like Jacki, Alan and Rusty. And God knows who else.

It sounds like a lot of people- and I guess it is. But I for one am glad that they'll all be there waiting with us. It's a pretty scary time to be going through. The extra love and support will go a long way, I assure yous.

So today, it's back to work for our final day of the week. And we'll be off work Monday. The family will all start arriving this weekend. And I've got a lot to do.

But for today, I am going to take advantage of the quiet house and the fact that I am up so early. I'm going to put all the chaos and calamity behind me if only for a few hours and catch up on some diaries, solidify a few wedding plans and just kick back for a few.

Today is going to be a much better day than the previous few, I can feel it.

Thanks for tuning in!

Simply,

Sara

0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

I'm awake, damn it! - 2005-01-28