What a day!
Bitched at 12:44 a.m. on 2005-01-27

Currently Feeling: Saddened, but hopeful
Currently Hearing: my dogs tearing up something
Currently Craving: Mom's health

What a day... I awoke in high spirits. Last night, we came home to find that our pipes had finally unthawed and we returned to people who were able to give up their "life on the prairie" living and resume to a more normal way of living. Living without running water sucvked moose cock in a major way! So it would be safe to say that I was orgasmic upon finding flowing pipes... yeehaw!

So i got up, showered in my own shower with my own hot water and that alone put my spirits to soaring high and free! I even had a good hair day (well, with what hair I have left. Ha. Ha.) And my make up was perfect. What more could this gal ask for?


Tonight, while at work. Things were going rather smoothly. Since I hadn't taken the time to cook last night, I decided to splurge a little bit on lunch. Shawn, Frank and I ordered Pizza Slut for dinner. The guys sharing a large pepperoni lover's pan pizza. And I indulged in a pasta dish that was smothered in oozing mozzarella and parmesan cheeses, a tangy marinara meat sauce and even packed a punch with meatballs that set my mouth to watering. Man, I was in heaven.

But just after dinner- a page went off for Shawn to pick up the outside line. Uh-oh! That's never good news. the only time someone calls us at work is because they're hurt, there's been an accident or someone died or is dying. My heart start beating faster than a jack rabbit on speed, I'm here to tell ya!

It was Shawn's cousin Tony calling to tell us that he had spoken to Shawn's Mom up at the hospital and that she wanted him to call her right away... so Shawn did.

They were able to do the test that they had been wanting to do to check for clogged arteries and what-not. Turns out that every aretery she has is indeed clogged. And that there are many clogged vessels. When I later calle dthe hospital to speak to Joe, her nurse, he gave me the break down in great detail. (Bless your heart, Joe!) He was most kind and comforting.

He explained that Mom's heart is severe enough that shunts or angioplasty surgeries would not suffice, so she will be needing a bypass surgery. He reassured me in every way that she is in the best of care- which I do not doubt. And that short of sleeping on a cot right in the operating oom, she couldn't be in a better place should another heart attack occur.

I wish I could say that I was more shocked, but I'm not. Mom's health has been her arch-enemy for as long as I have known her. And that's well over 20 years now. The woman has survived cancer in her kidney, a bad pancreas, her bladder falling out, diabetes, neuropothy and so many more ailments. And now, she's survived a heart attack. The woman is definately a survivor.

I guess that's the one reason that most of her kids, myself included- are able to keep it together and stay positive. Shawn's sister Samantha however is having a rough time with this! And that's probably the understatement of the year. But her Momma's life is on the line again, so I don't blame her.

I'll be the first to admit though, that with the shape Mom's body is in now- that I do have my concerns of a bypass surgery and what path tat very well could lead us down. She might not make it. And I cannot sugar coat that fact for anyone.

But it's like I told Samantha tonight when we went there after work to explain the situation to her- Mom's one hell of a stubborn bitch. And right n ow, I mean that in a kind, tender hearted way. She's not going anywhere right now. not for what will hopefully prove many, many more years to come. She's got children to watch marry off. She's got grandkids somewhere in the future to spoil. And she's got her three kids to torment and torture yet. Their other halves included.

Mom's still only 48. She won't be 49 yet for just under another month. That fact alone scares the beejesus out of myself and Nicol. We're ready to put our mates on diets, smoking cessation programs and exercize regimes that would make Richard Simmons cringe.

So right now- we're living on baited breaths, hopes, prayers and faith that God won't let us down on this one.

Pray for Barb with us- won't you?

Simply,

Sara

0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

What a day! - 2005-01-27