I've been productive!
Bitched at 11:56 p.m. on 2005-01-16

Currently Feeling: Porductive!
Currently Hearing: Bryan and Shawn cuss out their Madden gaming abilities...
Currently Craving: the fresh pumpkin pie I just baked.... yummy!

I have just had one of the most productive days I have had in ages... I really have amazed myself. And my men-folk. I say men because we have Bryan over tonight. I invited him for dinner and Madden gaming with Shawn.

I was in panic mode this a.m. because Bryan said that he would be here at 1 p.m. because of the game that started then. (On T.V., not Madden, LOL!) I didn't get to bed until 4 a.m. or so and hadn't gotten any of the house work I had hoped to before his arrival. So when I awoke this morning just after 11:00 a.m., I jumped out of bed to get a head start on my day!

I started catching up the laundry and dishes. I got my kitchen cleaned up and prepped for the big meal I planned to make special. I even got my bathroom spic and spanned while I jammed to Ashlee Simpson. I got my carpets scrubbed and vacuumed. The laundry is finally caught up and damn, it feels good! I just need to tackle the spare room someday this week as Michelle is supposed to be coming up next weekend for Girl Time. Woohoo!

Bryan didn't get here 'til later in the afternoon which was cool as I had the house in proper shape before he arrived. The candles were all lit and everything sparkly. Shawn's Mom had even come over for a visit. It has been pleasant really.

For dinner, I planned on making a couple of new recipes off of Everyday Italian Cooking, a show on the Food Network. The woman who hostesses it made stuffed manicotti and stuffed jumbo seashells and what looked to be truly divine breadsticks. So I got this notion to try them.

I skipped the manicotti and stuck with the stuffed shells. I made a meat and cheese mixture to stuff them with. Whipped up a truly yummy batch of homemade tomato sauce to smother them in. And as a side dish, I made the breadsticks she made that day. Tey were everyday ordinary quick bake Pillsbury breadsticks. But she rolled them in crumbled Gruyere cheese and parmesan with a few sprigs of rosemary.

I've never been one for fancy cooking. Both the rosemary and the Gruyere cheese (which turns out to be a a divine form of swiss) were entirely new to me.

The stuffed shells were absolutely wonderful. Everything I had hoped them to be even though I foprgot to add the garlic so we made due with garlic salt. And the breadsticks were heavenly! My meal was an absolute success with thwe men. Nicol even made it over to keep me company while I cooked and was able to sample my dinner. She seemed to like it also.

And the batch I made, ended up making 3 pans full of stuffed shells. I was shocked. I had doubled the batch, but damn. So now I will be taking them to work to share with Ed, Jamie, Franky, Bryan and our boss John. Shawn and myself also of course. I'm hoping they'll be as big a success there.

There's something truly awesome in making dinner for your loved ones and having it be a hit. Being appreciated. And of course, devoured. I think that's why I have grown to love cooking. It's therapeutic in it's own rite when your not in a rush and can take the time to do it right.

Then to sit down to a meal you worked hard to perfect and watch as everyone oohs and ahhs over your work... hoo-boy. I was so pleased with everything at that point that I I got back up after finishing all the dishes and Nicol and I whipped up a couple of pumpkin pies. I just pulled them from the oven not that long ago and not only do they look perfect, they taste yummy too! I was a bit worried as A) I'm nto exactly a baker and B) I used Splenda in place of regular sugar as I am not s'posed to eat sugars anymore (But shh, I'm NOT telling anyone until AFTER they critique it!). God bless Splenda. I have fallen in love with it. Truly, Madly, Deeply.

Nicol and I played a game of rummy and then one of skip-bo before she had to go pick Samantha up from work.

My sisters have been working on my bridal shower. They're having it catered by KFC and have set the date for the last Saturday in July. Now they just have to hunt down a hall and presto. We're in business.

I was even more excited when I went and picked up the paper and found taht our engagement announcement was in there. I don't know hwy- but it almost made it feel more real to me. Like a feeling of "This is it... no turning back!" not that I would ever want to. I have endured this relationship for far too long, invested far too much heart, soul and tears into it. And I love him. Oh God, how I love him.

It's been a wonderful day. Tomorrow's going to be just as good. I can feel it. Now if I can just get through the physical therapy without knocking the therapist out- game on!

I was once told, "The secret to a man's heart is by keeping his belly full, and his balls empty." What a wise man he was.

Well, I've got his belly full... I am off to work on the latter part of making my man happy!

Thanks for tuning in, Y'all!

Simply,

Sara

0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

I've been productive! - 2005-01-16