Go fly a kite!
Bitched at 10:23 p.m. on 2004-04-29

Currently Feeling: nostalgic
Currently Hearing: You give me fever...
Currently Craving: a cigarette. (Day 3 of being smoke free!)

Today was such a beautiful day� I had all I could do to get myself dressed, into ym car and en route to work. I woke up early today, not that I had a choice. Barklee and Chewy decided that they wanted to get a head start on the sunshine and had me let them out at 9 a.m. and again at 11 a.m. After the second time, I decided it was useless to go back to bed. It was so gorgeous. Why waste what little day I had before I had to drag ass to the shop�

I have never seen a more perfect day. The sun was shining, the sky was the prettiest hue of blue. It wasn�t too hot, or too cold and there was a glorious breeze kicking the fresh air into circulation. In fact, it was perfect kite weather! And I so longed to put my kite together and see if I could get it soaring. I sat out on the deck with my dogs and thought about the weather, about flying kites� about my daddy.

Every Easter, no matter what is in my basket (Yes, even at 27 I still get Easter baskets!) I can always count on a kite. I live for that moment. I remember the first Easter after I had moved out on my own, my dad didn�t bother with the kite- he figured I wouldn�t want one anymore. That I had outgrown them. I was devastated. I must have moped for a good hour. My Dad laughed. But he realized how important the kite was and he hasn�t forgotten since.

Kite flying takes me back. It was one of the things all four of us kids could do with my Dad� and it was cheap. Dad bought us each a kite and spools upon spools of kite sturdy thread that we added to the spool that came with the kite. I don�t know who was more excited when we got our kites as high as we did (And we got some waaaaaaaaaaaay up there!) us kids or my Dad. It was a lot of fun. Dad would instruct us to tug on the rope, cute it some slack, reel it in a bit and OH! OH! OH! Watch out for those trees!

I don�t get my kite out as much as I�d like anymore. Not that I�ve outgrown it, I don�t think I ever could. There�s scheduling, errands and so many of the tasks we have to do as time goes on, that it seems like as we age we get stuck with more and more wasted time doing the things we �have� to do� and not enough time doing the things we �love� to do. It�s sad really.

Last year, I taught both Cassie and Carter how to fly a kite. It was a first for both of them. And man, did they love it! The wind wasn�t so great though, so once we got it up- it would glide above us briefly before crashing to the ground in a not-so-graceful nose dive. I remember the one time we did keep it up for a bit, Cassie let go of the string. Swhe yelled at me to chase it, so off I ran after our run-away kite. Just as it finally started to nose dive, my foot came down into a mole hole and I took a nose dive myself. Before I knew what had happened, both Cass and Carter nose dived into me and lay beside me, one on each side and we giggled for what seemed like an eternity.

And I wish it had been an eternity. That was a moment I will never forget. I think everybody needs to have those kinds of days. They�re good for times of stress and anxiety to pull up and revert back to to break up the monotony and to offer up hope for brighter days�

So what are you still doing here damn it? Have you not been reading what I said? Get up� grab your gear and by God�

GO FLY A KITE!

You just got to make time for the smaller things in life really. Life is just too short not to.

Wishing you dancing dreams and silver linings!

Simply,

Sara



0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Go fly a kite! - 2004-04-29