WriteAPrisoner.Com?!
Bitched at 6:25 p.m. on 2003-07-27

Currently Feeling:
Currently Hearing:
Currently Craving:

It's been an interesting day thus far... what I have spent of it awake anyways. I didn't get to bed until around 6 a.m., and I awoke somewhere around noon. And My Dad, sisters and the kids had left. No goodbyes. I was a bit sad- but kind of glad for that. because no matter what, I always end up watching them pull away as I stand in a puddle of tears. It's damn hard living 3 hours from my life. Saginaw isn't quite home to me anymore, but it holds my most precious fortune- my family. And I am going to make more of an effort to get back there more often so the good byes are less bitter sweet.

I saw the computer room was occupied on my travel to the bathroom so I peeked in to see what was up. There was Shane, in my computer chair asleep. My entering roused him and he moved to the love seat to sleep. I had to laugh. Poor kids broken collar bone keeps him from being able to sleep lying down. How uncomfortable that must be. My brother is in the living room sleeping also. He's lying on the couch.

What with everyone sleeping... I headed abck to bed myself until a more respectable hour. LOL.

I awoke as Shawn was stirring. He was taking drastic measures to recover the heavy comforter I had hidden on the floor beside my bed. But I wasn't having it. What is it with people who MUST sleep with their hot comforters when it's 100 degrees???

He awoke enough that we were able to converse a bit. And then we did somethign I have been dying to do since Thursday night. We rocked the boat. And good golly, Miss Molly. He once again helped me find religion. Loudly, vocally and spiritually. Just ask the neighbors! ::smirks:: Take that, you wives and mommies! You want YOUR pity party now, or later? Heh.

We crawled out of bed and as usual, Shawn's first words were, "What's for dinner?" To which I rolled my eyes and sighed as I made my way ironically, to the kitchen. (After all, it IS connected to my bedroom) We decided on breakfast for breakfast. Imagine that. So started the bacon and he made his way to the store for eggs.

Half way thru cooking, he shocked me damn near into a heart attack! He pulled out the omelette pan and offered to cook! I started wondering if he hadn't hit my head against the wall one to many times in our shag-a-thon?! But true to his word, he cooked. And damn, was my omelette good.

We chatted a bit over breakfast and then retired to... where else? the computer room no less. I have been playing TSO and he's been playing EQ.

I must say last night I got an awesome suprise. While simming last night in Calvin's Creek... people were syaing what state they were from, I replied. There happened to be another Michigander. So we went with our cities, She was from Saginaw! Shock, I Tell ya. What are the odds in that?

After a long night of chatting, I found out that I didn't know her, but that she's dating one of Shawn's high school buddies. One we had just talked about a couple days prior and wondered what was up with him. That was a trip. Right down memory lane. Sabrina was such a cool person and we chatted easily. I look forward to meeting her possibly on one of my trips back down there. I doubt Jason remembers me much as he was more Shawn's pal than mine, but even if Shawn doesn't so, I'd love to meet Sabrina.

****************************************

Last night, before I met Sabrina, I was growing a bit bored with simming, so I had my sim skilling and started poking around with e-mails and the news via AOL.

I found an article about Susan Smith (The bitch who drive her kids into the water and killed them, blaming a black man and crying like a baby on public TV. What a... anyways.) and it was about how inmates at prisons can now sign up for a service and place an ad, personal or looking for lawyers, legal aid, etc. via WriteAPrisoner.com.

So, out of curiosity, I loaded up that site and started sifting thru inmates. That was a riot. These people sometimes put up pics. the women usually looking slutty with all their goods hung out to be seen. The men looking tatooed and harsh. All claiming to be looking for a kind soul who can forgive them their past and give them a new start. All promised to write anyone who wrote to them.

One guy made me bawl with laughter. He's a 6 foot male, maybe 250 lbs., well muscled. HUGE! Not my type, but anyways... under his bio, he wrote that he was looking for the above, and also someone who might be into trying bondage, domination, etc. Typical S & M stuff. I scroll down to see if he listed what he was in for. Yeap. He did. 2 counts criminal sexual conduct of the second degree.

Yeah. THAT's the guy I want to tie me up, dominate me and then have his way with me. I wrote to him pronto and over nighted his letter. Yeah. Right. NOT! As if. But I started thinking about it- the sad thng is, someone might.

The whole article I read was whether or not inmates should be allowed to purchase these personal ads. And I thought about it.

I guess I don't honestly have a problem with it. they have to give their name, they cannot lie. They don't always list what they did or how long they're incarcerated for. But they are people. And the ad does allow them to reach out for legal help they might not otherwise get.

I mean, you know damn well once the lawyers out there catch on to this, they'll find their next generation of customers. No more ambulance chasing. Just click, click, e-mail and bam. Insta-client. And these people are already tried and serving time, so even if they fail, what's the worst that can happen? Can't be any harm. Maybe only good. Depending on how YOU view it of course.

However, who in the right mind- would correspond with an inmate they have never met or know nothing about except what they WANT you to know about? And as if that weren't scary enough, they're going to have to give their home addresses. Unless they're smart enough to drive an hour of town to pick up a post office box just to be on the safe side.

But, there are all kinds of warnings. The sight doesn't beat around the bush. It is called writeaninmate.com. So you know what you're going into from the get go. I would just hope tghat the site is child proofed and all.

I didn't get further than checking out a few profiles of inmates from my own state. And research be damned, I was NOT about to email one. So above and beyond the profiles, I don't know how protected this site is.

I guess for me, I believe in giving second chances. Sometimes even thirds. I believe people can change for the better. I believe jails and prisons can reform an individual. And I believe people need to reach out, need people willing to forgive and help them through tough times.

So i guess I'm for the sight.

I'm NOT for the jackass who gives out their address to a possible serial killer or rapist.

I would just hope that the person willing to correspond would be damn careful and weigh out the risks.

But hey- that's just me.

Simply,

Sara



1 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

WriteAPrisoner.Com?! - 2003-07-27