Media Mayhem
Bitched at 2:35 p.m. on 2003-03-28

Currently Feeling:
Currently Hearing:
Currently Craving:

It's one of those drab and dreary days. I woke up distraught that I had fallen asleep last night while I had a lasagna in the oven. I shouldn't have worried though, Shawn took care of it for me. Which I am greatful to him for. Then, I look outside, it's a miserable rainy day. The sky is gray, there's a cold wind and the rain is pummeling the ground like little bullets- ones hell bent on blasting the Earth.... and then I remember... we're still at war.

You know, I think the media shows too much. Divulges too much. And gets involved, just a little too much. Julie, my co-worker and I were just discussing that last week. They actually have jounalists moving about with some troops. Ones who tape live feed of people being killed, bombs being detonated, etc. And they actually show most of it on T.V.

Now don't get me wrong. I know how we all, as Americans, like to stay up to date and know what's going on. But to what extent? Do we realloy need to see the soldiers being shot at? Do we really need to see tanks being blown up, helicopters shot down, etc? I for one, don't want to. To me, that's not news. That's real life horror and it disgusts me, a fact of life or not.

And everytime I see it, I think, there's some Momma's baby, Some Daddy's child, someone's brother, sister, grandchild, cousin, friend, etc. And what if they just watched their love one die? It happened to my family. they have all been watching the news since my sister's boyfriend got deployed in the Army's 101st Div. Airborn. Guess what... 13 were wounded and it was ALL over the news.... in the papers, on every channel. My Mom called me to warm me that my sister was going to be a basket case. I called my sister to offer words of encouragement. Turns out, there are 22,000 men and women in that certain division. So what were the chances of it being Chris? And if it were, he most likely wasn't dead, only injured.

But there. The media induced hysteria could have, should have been avoided. God forbid it may be Chris next time. I sure as hell wouldn't want my baby sister hearing it on CNN first. You know?

Finny thing is, I always wanted to be a journalist. I grew up a nosey child with a talent for writing... I knew my calling, or so I thought. And then as I started studying newspapers, watching the news, CNN... I quickly fell out of love with it. Just like that. 80% of "journalists" disgust and annoy me. I don't read the paper much anymore, never watch the news. At best, I skim.

Until now. Until we went to war. Until we sent our loved ones onto enemy soil to help another people enjoy the freedom we enjoy, as Americans, today.

But even now, I'm still disgusted. I'm still anoyed. There's a thin line between journalism and tabloid maneur. It's just sad so many journalists don't see it.

And to Chris, and the millions of soldiers over there doing the job that so many of us (myself included) opted not to, or just don;t have it in us to do... God be with you. Stay safe, and come home soon.

You're ALL in my prayers... Soldiers and Civilians...

Simply,

Sara

0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Media Mayhem - 2003-03-28