Balding, but lucky?!
Bitched at 4:42 a.m. on 2005-01-11

Currently Feeling: bald and spoiled
Currently Hearing: peace and quiet... shh, I'm treasuring the moment.
Currently Craving: sleep currently. maybe some penis-cillan?

Simply, Sara... Simply, speechless (okay- practically. But not quite. As speechless as this woman can be) Simply, falling apart.

I'm coming undone. Right from the roots, in huge curly clusters. I was warned from the get-go that this would happen no matter what efforts and pains I took to put it off. And I actually thought that I had had this beat. But alas, I have not. My time has come... my hair is falling out en mass.

All my life, the one trait of my own that I cherished whole ehartedly, has been my hair. Beautifully blonde- a gift of nature and genetic genius with it's glorious waves and curls that so many women and gay men have adored and lusted after is now breaking and pulling away in clumps that take my breath away. Tonight in the shower, I cried over the locks that fell away from my scalp and into my hand.

Because of the surgery, I am malnutritioned. Due to lack of protein and whatever other vitamins, my hair is falling out. My body is under stress also, so that isn't helping. I started out shedding slightly, but now- oh my. It's crazy! And oh, how sad! I am trying not to wash it too often. Or pull it back too tightly. I am doing everything I can short of super gluing it to my scalp. But what can I do but deal with it?

All the guys at work are true sweeties about it too- not! They laugh and joke about it all and tell methat if it's protein I am lacking,t hey can hook me up with an instant protein shake. Imagine that. Men, I tell ya... they all have their minds buried deep within the gutters of sexual perversion. Fortunately, mine resides in the sewers. So I'm usually one thought ahead of them.

But if all it took was a few doses of "penis-cillan" as one guy at work happily dubs it, were to do the trick. I'd be lining 'em up at the door. My hair is just now starting to fall out, but I miss it already. I'm thinking a wig shop might be a place I'll be visiting soon if this stuff doesn't stop soon!

I've reached a plateau again in my weight loss. I have only lost precious few pounds since before Christmas. I really, really need to get more walking in. But I have been in such pain and agony with my back that it's not been an option I have wanted to indulge in.

I finally went to the "vet" about it. Afetr explaining that since my stay in the hospitall in july, this muscle has been knotted up and keeps getting worse instead of better. The Doc sent me to a physical therapist. Turns out the therapist thinks I might have pulled my rhomboid (sp?) muscle pulling myself out of the hospital bed. That's believable.

He says that since it's been so long, it's probably deteriorated and has developed scar tissue and that I will need to be in therapy for a bit. I am scheduled two and three time a week for the rest of this month. I will do whatever it takes, I don't care. I just want it to stop aching! It's right behind my right shoulder blade and when it knots up, it immobilizes me and literally takes my breath away.

I start with my first official visit tomorrow... let's hope this works!

I have been a pretty busy beaver as of late. The wedding plans are coming full swing and people are stepping up to the proverbial plate to lend their advice and expertise whether I like it or not! But it's been pretty fun. Gena, my baby sis calls me 1-3 times a day now to chat about everything and set plans and fantasize about what we want. Hll, I swear she's more excited than I- if that were possible!

And my best friend Mick, she's pretty geeked about it all too! I just hooked her up with Gena's celly number so they can plot and plan together. They're currently working on plans for a brodal shower/bachellorette party weekend in late July or early August.

Right now, I'm just kicking back and enjoying the hype. Wondering how many weekends of over time I am going to have to work to pay for it all. And loving the fact that my very best friends and family are so solidly there for me. I'm feeling quite spoiled actually.

I am one hell of a lucky woman. A balding one... but lucky just the same!

Thanks for tuning in D'Landers.

Simply,

Sara

0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Balding, but lucky?! - 2005-01-11