Heaven found on Black Lake
Bitched at 12:21 a.m. on 2004-04-11

Currently Feeling: exhausted... happily so.
Currently Hearing: absolutely nothing. Ahhhhhhh!
Currently Craving: 10 years far, far away from Mike!

Oh my goodness has this been one hell of a week for me....

I ended up dricing to the UAW education center on Black Lake. I found it rather interesting that Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz spent their honeymoon there. Not that I fault them for it. It's absolutely fabulous there. I can now honestly say that I have personally found heaven on Earth. And I say that with the utmost sincereity.

From the moment I checked in at the front desk until the moment the lady driving the shuttle deposited me at my car for the last time, I enjoyed whole heartedly my stay, the conference and everything involved with Black Lake. Honestly, it's rather hard to not get caught up in the hype pnce you get there and become a part of it all. there is so much history behind it all. There are so many wonderful and helpful staff members- nto to mention all of the enjoyable brothers and sisters of the UAW all there. And the food? Lemme tell you this... I was glad to have spent four full and oh-so-delicious days there before my surgery takes place!

I was also lucky with what room I got and in my roomate! I was onyl 3 doors down from the main lobby and front desk. So catching the shuttle was easy enough. Too bad they didn't have inner shuttles or motorized scooters. This heiffer did some major walking and is suprised to live to tell these tales! I swear to God I walked more in the past week to get to the dining room and to my classes than I do in a week on any given day!

My roomate's name was Beth. She's from down state. I will admit my unecessary fear of the roomate from hell- btu I got the exact opposite really. Beth was an awesome roomate. We are very like minded and similar in personality. She was a fun companion and we had our classes together which made everythign nice.

I did end up driving. Luckily, the snow we had the night before we left was minimal and I was able to drive- Thank God! I've been a witness to the many, many, many horrors of narcolepsy. I mean, Mike never said he was and I don't even think that's a diagnosis. But is wear he has to be! He made it maybe an hour intot he trip before midsentence he passed out. Just like that! And he snores something fierce. I have bass in my car and had teh radio up to a rather high decibel to still have to strain to hear over the snoring. It was maddening.

At one point, he woke up asking, "Where's the hammers?" Only to relaize it was bass. And at another point, he woke up, lit a cigarette and began chatting on ly to pass out yet again, mid-sentence with a lit cigarette. I was panicking. He did finally awake just before it was dangerously low. And when Mike is sleeping, he snores with his whole body. It's like nothing I ahve ever seen before. his whole gut lifts, his head lifts... sometimes his eyes don't even close. He gave me the willie's!

I was damn glad to ahve finally arrived.. in one piece, without having gotten lost or taken too many wrong turns- and to finalloy drop Mike off and forget about him untilt he ride home. He ended up following me to my room. I assured him that all was well with me and he could go take care of what he had to do. But I guess he felt a little protective and thought he would ahve to come back to give me a tour. Sighing, I shut the door and resigned myself to a long, hot shower. And it was just what the good doc ordered!

When I got out, Beth was there and we chatted, clicking instantly. She asked if I wanted to go for a walk and check things out, having been there before she could show me around.I told her about Mike and we laughed. When he called she said it was perfectly fine to tell him we were gonna take off and he need not worry about me. So I did. he sounded bummed. Le sigh.

The rest of our time there, was spent with Mike being a constant shadow. We just couldnt shake him. I mean, I felt sorry for him as he often ended up alone... but damn. One time, he followed us back to our room from a meal and I didn't notice. I went to shut the door and he was pushing it back open saying he wanted to come in for a cigarette. he ended up sitting down and... you guessed it! Passing out. I had a class at 7:30 p.m. that he by all rights should have went to. Beth didn't so she was gonna hang back and relax. mike opted not to go and didn;t seem to want to leave. I asked him if he was going and he said no. I was dumb founded. He just sat there. I said I was leaving and nothing. I couldn't leave him with Beth. She finally said she was elaving so he left too. He kinda freaked her out a bit.... not that I blame her. He even shadowed us at bnight when we went to the bar for a night cap to relax before turning in. Ugh!

But Tuesday we got to the bar and we saw Mike sitting alone. Waiting for us. And then we got invited to sit with another group not far away. We sat with the new group. A fun group by far! I was determined to get snookered enough to karaoke Bitch by meredith Brooks. I slammed 3 Mai Tai's and 2 shots of Tequila in 10 minutes drinking time...a record and was able to sing my song. Another girl sang with me and we did all right. I got so trashed! The drinks hit me all at once and needless to say it was a quick night out. LOL.

Wenesday wa sthe final night and the big banquet. they put on a nice broo-ha-ha if'n ya ask me. I was sad to have it all ending. But I learned a lot of valuable things. Met some wonderful people. And had a shitload of fun. When they started calling for snow early Friday, knowing my poor phobatic self could not handle any snow on the drive home, I asked Sandra, one of the conference leaders about leaving that night. She said many opted to do so and I could. So I packed up and said my goodbyes. Got Mike rounded up and he semed okay with it... until we were waiting on the shuttle. he has a HUGE temper tantrum. He got off the bus bitching and moaning and I told him point blank that he made me drive knwoing I would not, could not drive in any snow. That since he made me drive, he had to either A)Go home when I did, B) Stay and work out another ride or C)Drive home should it snow.

He didn;t like any of his options and said he wanted to party. Boo fucking hoo. He bitched the whole way home- when he was awake enough to do so. Sometimes even bitched in his sleep. He didn;t drive because he said on long trips he gets drowsy and has to pull over for a lot of naps. He was scared he'll crash. He said that all I had to do was drive slow and we'd be fine. He just didn't get it. And I know it's crazy- which is why I made it known from the get go... his he hid until like a week before hand. And I wonder why his excuse overruled my reasoning?

Regardless, I made him leave at 9 p.m. instead of staying and partying and catching the continental breakfast.(Quick, someone lock me up for missing that!) And I am sure I havent heard the last about it. Honestly, If I see or hear from Mike in the next 10 years, it'll have been waaaaaaaay too soon.

But I did manage to learn some cool stuff. And I still managed to have fun, so it's all good really. And I was even impressed taht I made it home without a hitch seeing as how I found the place in daylight and left after dark. Mike, of course, slept. I took only one wrong turn and I think that was my subconcious as instead of heading to Traverse City, I headed towards home. So instead of correcting it, i did just that.

I was so glad to get home and made Shawn drive Mike home. I rode with, but in the back seat. Funny that Mike was wide awake for all of that trying to talk Shawn's ear off. Heh.

When we returned, I decided to spend the nigt with Shawn at home before hitting the road again, good weather provided, and headed back home to meet my nephew. It was a nice night with my hunk of burning loin cloth. We got ather religious and enjoyed each others company. I didn;t realize how much I would miss him... but I did. Just don;t tell HIM that- it'll go to his head, and not the right one I assure you! LMAO!

So that my friends... was my trip in a nutshell. I actually got to find heaven on Earth- and share it with a living, snoring nightmare.Ahh, but such is life! And the good by far outweighed the bad.

It is now Saturday night, technically Easter Sunday. I have returned home safely from meeting my most adorable nephew and having a great time with family. But that freind's, will ahve to wait to be reported on 'til I have slept and relaxed more.

UPDATES:

Tyler John is a beautiful, tiny little boy I have nicknamed Yoda. My brother hates it and it pisses him off, but his baby does look like Yoda so tough shit. My family agrees! Well, minus the green skin and pointy ears...

Tania is alive and well i am happy to report. Turns out cancer was not the problem. She is fighting off an infection. thank you for all of your prayers and well wishes!

Simply,

Sara



1 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Heaven found on Black Lake - 2004-04-11