Out of Time
Bitched at 10:29 p.m. on 2004-01-13

Currently Feeling: enlightened
Currently Hearing: Fuel - Bad Day
Currently Craving: an 8th day in the week called Funday

I�m sitting here thinking about how much time slips past us. There�s just never enough time in a day or in a week� or so it seems. With each new day, there are no guarantees of anything. Nothing we can count on for sure. Except for the fact that as someone wise once said, �Time waits for no one.� And it�s true don�t you think?

Last week, one of the guys we work with lost his wife to a lengthy illness. She was in her mid forties. They had been married for over 20 years. And all I could think was how terrible it must be for the family. She was still quite young. Still full of life. And yet, she wasn�t. And for her husband whom is now alone after so many years of living with the love of his life� on his own, once again.

The thought saddens me. Terrifies me. And makes me want to run out and make the most of every moment. But will I? I�d be lying to say yes, I would. Why? Because here never seems to be enough time. For anything.

I have family I don�t call or see as often as I�d like. My best friend since grade 3 has been trying to keep in touch with me over the phone but our cell phones haven�t cooperated signal wise. The last words from her were, �Call me back!� And I promised. Did I? Nope. (Part of that lies in the fact that I HATE� I mean despise, talking on the phone) I have so many things that I would like to do, people I would like to go visit, places I�d like to see, thoughts I�d like to express, Ideas I�d like to explore.

But I haven�t. Some things I might. Most I won�t. It�s almost as if life is getting the last laugh as Father Time ticks and tocks the hours away as we go on about our �busy� lives. There�s work, and bills, and chores and errands. The things that seem so important at the time, but in retrospect mean very little.

I mean, sure- you do have to pay the bills, run your errands, do the chores. But to what extent? With all the conveniences of modern day technology, you can pay bills on line. You could arrange to have all your appointments and errands run on the same day one right after the other to free up the other 6 days. And work? Well, most of us have to work. So maybe we can�t get out of that. But there are ways to make things easier, faster and less time consuming. And yet- we don�t.

Until moments like his where we think of the family we�re missing, the friends we�re excluding, the moments we could be making memories. And wondering why in the hell we let life get the best of us.

I for one am the Queen of Procrastination. The Queen of �I�ll get around to it� (but never do.) And the one who is always out of time or too busy for the stuff that means the most. In retrospect, I realize that time does not wait for anyone. Myself included. And that I need to get up off my dead ass and quit being the Queen of Excuses�.

Life really is too short.

And hindsight really is 20/20.

Simply,

Sara



0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Out of Time - 2004-01-13