Birthday Bliss
Bitched at 1:02 a.m. on 2003-06-13

Currently Feeling:
Currently Hearing:
Currently Craving:

Well, It�s officially over. I am another year older, and my �special� day is now complete. Good day, a bad day or a depressing day? Most certainly. But before I even dare to go into detail on how my birthday went, I must tell you, that no matter what I enter below this. No matter what you might read into how my day did or did not go� I AM happy. I AM blessed. And I give special thanks to God Almighty who has blessed me with another year, another day, another breath. It truly is a great feeling to feel so alive. And I do tonight. More so than I have in a long time. Funny, the way birthdays can alter your mood- good or bad. And how they can make you replay old memories, yet also think about the future� I have done both tonight.

Today got off to a rocky start. I was hoping to wake up early enough to pry Shawn out of bed and go somewhere decent (and by that I mean non-fast food type) for lunch before making our way to work. I was also thinking of stopping at a local grocery store who�s deli makes the BEST cakes I have had in years and picking up a generic cake and some ice cream. Just because we had to work doesn�t mean I still couldn�t celebrate right?

Well, I got up. Not as early as I had hoped. So I thought I�d wake Shawn and we might get our freak on a little. Heh. I got hit over the head with a pillow (not so softly either) and heard him grumble, �what the fuck do you WANT?!� Needless to say� I knew getting freaky would not be happening. So, instead, I hit the shower and as I dressed I told Shawn to get up, that one way or another, I was leaving. He could join me or drive his own tired ass to work.

He joined me. I don�t know why. After his pissy response when I tried to wake him the first time, and checking our machine and finding no one had called to wish me a happy day, I was a bit pissy myself. But as we were getting ready to head out, I heard the phone ring and stopped to see who it was. Tara had called to wish me a happy day. Yeehaw!

We stopped in the village here and cashed his check, then I asked if we could stop at the Lounge for lunch, and we did. I had a double wing ding basket and he grabbed a burger. So we sat and ate and chatted. That was cool and picked my mood up a bit.

People at work were quick to wish me a Happy Birthday. And shortly after the work day started, I plunged into gauging my Ops. (Operations) I got paged at 4 p.m. by the boss who, after I returned the call told me to drop what I was doing and head to the office. I was nervous. I felt like a 12 year old who had been sent to the office for detention. When I got there, I saw a huge and oh so gorgeous bouquet of flowers on the secretaries desk and my spirits went from pissy to gleeful. I just stood and stared. Then the secretary told me I just had to open them so we all could know who they were from. I was shocked to say the least. Never before in my 27 years had anyone done something so heart lifting. I had always wished as it happened to other people, that just ONCE, Shawn would be so kind. And I thought this might be that one. So I tore into the card.

It read, �Hope this makes your day. Love Ya, Your home girls.�

It wasn�t Shawn. But who cared. Tara and Renee had spoiled me rotten. The flowers are brilliantly colored red, purple and yellow. The vase had a yellow and beige knit ribbon. And to my awe, there were sliced lemons in the bottom with the water. It is beautiful. There was a Happy B-day balloon and one that read: �Roses are red, Violets are blue, I�m laughing like hell, cuz I�m younger than you!� I had to laugh. Renee was sitting non-chalantly in another office close by so I yelled to her and she came in to give me a hug. When I walked back to my plant, floral bouquet with balloons in hand, I was feeling like a million bucks.

Ray had bought me a purple pretty smelling candle and an Eeyore balloon. I was feeling spoiled!

Work went rather well. The only bad part of the day was when everyone, and I mean everyone, asked me what Shawn got me for my birthday. He didn�t get me anything- yet. He may never. But in his defense, he had no money, no time away from me or any means to shop� yet. We�ll see what happens. But I will say this much. If I were to hold my breath, I�d hope to hell that someone close by knew CPR! As much as it hurts and hits a raw nerve� he�s NOT the holiday or birthday gift giving kind. He just could care less.

Half way through the shift, I was sent down to see our buddy Scott, who is now our elected Union steward. I had brought up the fact that the company had screwed me on my seniority date, my tier and my raise a day or two ago briefly. Turns out that when he was over talking to H.R. about another grievance, my situation came up. To make a long story short, Scott got me a 50 cents raise per hour, my firm seniority date in �stone� AND my promotion to tier 2 quality control. I was happier than a pig in 10 acres of shit I tell ya. I hugged him twice and kissed his cheek. This man has been our union guy for less than 2 weeks. Wow.

The part that pissed me off, was that our old union rep. Screwed me. I should have gotten 2nd tier and the 50 cents more an hour February 20th. And per the contract, they will only go back 30 days. God, I could kill him. But Scott got me 30 days back pay, a raise and my �promotion�. I�m NOT complaining!

His wife Tammy came up to work to pick him up and gave me a gift also! I�m rich in friendships lately, I tell Ya. She got me a pretty dolphin sculpture to add to my collection. What a sweetheart.

So that�s pretty much how my day went. I worked, had fun doing it� and got a beautiful bouquet, lovely gifts. And Scott�s gift!

It�s been a good day. I�m looking forward to getting sometime off to cut loose and really celebrate. But, until then�

I�m rolling with the punches� oh so happily.

Simply,

Sara

And thanks to Ange and Matty for the b-day wishes!



0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Birthday Bliss - 2003-06-13