OMG! The unthinkable!
Bitched at 12:23 a.m. on 2004-12-15

Currently Feeling: shocked
Currently Hearing: soem crazy country song
Currently Craving: happily ever after!

There is a country song tonight that I am thinking of. A certain couple of lines keep runnign thru my head. I don;t know who sings it or even the name of the song... just the two simple lines that so totally fit all that I have experienced in the past 24 hours. Those lines are these...

"Unsinkable ships, sink. Unbreakable walls, break..."

Last night, the guy whom I have spent the last eleven years of my life with and counting, did the unthinkable. Something I had long ago given up on... at 5 o'clock this very morning, well yesterday now, Shawn proposed to me. Yes, you read right m'friends. I am going to be Mrs. Shawn Michael Leachman. Imagine that!

Shawn had originally planned on waiting to suprise me with a ring and a proposal at Christmas. But last night, some events at work and later conversations triggered another pillow talk marathon where I once again was open and honest about everything I am thinking, feeling and going through. And for the first time in our entire relationship- the boundaries he had so carefully crafted were shattered, and he finally let me in. He bared his soul to me completely.

We lay there, in the dark of the wee hours of the morning, talking, sharing and crying crocodile tears. So after a heated session of love making, I quickly jumped out of bed, and raced for the phone. And began calling my siblings and anyone else I thought might be awake at 5:30 a.m. on a Tuesday.

My sister Lisa answered. No one else did. But she was excited that she was the first to be called. My sister Gena was still in bed whe I called as was everyone else I could think of. So I shared my moment of glory with Lisa. And Gena, my Dad and Shawn's Mom all ahd to wait until we had recieved some much needed sleep.

Shawn's Mom disturbed me a bit. I called her to let her know that we wouldn't be in town for Christmas Eve most likely as my niece called and begged and plead that we come down to see her and Carter in the Christmas pageant at church. How can I refuse her that? I couldn't I tell you. So tehn I pass the phone off to Shawn, because with his family, he should be the one to spread the good news, right? At least I thought it was good news. But the conversation went just like this:

Shawn: Mom, Sara and I are going to get married...

Shawn's Mom: Well, you two have been together awhile... did you get the vacuum fixed yet?

No congrats, no words of happiness. Just one hell of a deflated balloon. Did we fix the fucking vacuum? AHHHHH!

But I won't let her rain on my parade. I just won't. If she can't be happy for us, then I don't know what her issues are- but I won't make them mine.

So I have a lot to do in the up coming months. I am shooting for a July wedding. Most likely a weekend around the 4th of July since we take a weeks worth of vacation then anyhow. The only plans set in stone as of right now is that we want a small, simple and private ceremony with just a few close personal friends and some family there. And the reception can be a big bash!

But I have so much plannign to do... I need to plan a cake. (Nothing traditional. I want tier after tier of mouth watering cheese cakes of all types and styles!) I have to plan dresses, color schemes, find a caterer, a D.J. and plan all else that goes with a wedding.

My time has finally come... I am going to be a wife!

Who would have thunk it?! HA!HA!

I will leave you with this, a poem from my traditional Irish weddings guide book:

"Oh Call it by a Better Name."

Oh call it by some better name
For friendship sounds too cold,
While Love is now a wordly flame,
Whose shrine must be of gold;
And passion, like the sun at noon,
That burns o'er all he sees,
Awhile as warm, will set as soon
Then, call it none of these.

Imagine something purer far,
More free from strain of clay
Than Friendship, love or Passion are,
Yet human still as they:
And if thy lip, for love like this,
No mortal word can frame,
Go, ask of angels what it is,
And call it by that name!

Simply,

Sara

5 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

OMG! The unthinkable! - 2004-12-15