Here's to second chances...
Bitched at 2:13 a.m. on 2004-10-21

Currently Feeling: Joyful
Currently Hearing: the sweet silence of my home
Currently Craving: absolutely nothing, and it's wonderful!

Last week was a 7 day work week for me. My first in quite some time, since even before I was off on medical leave from my surgery. It�s times like this that I really loathe Mondays. There�s just something to be said for the weekends really. I think it ought to be mandatory that at any given time, employees of every business everywhere should be mandated at least one day off! I mean, if you work seven days straight through, where does one week end and the new begin? It can really screw up your sense of timing. For me, not only was my timing off� but my muscles were aching and my mind screaming for a moment of peace, quiet and non-movement. But right now, that will have to week until (mental finger crossing inserted here) next weekend.

Tonight, being the last Monday of the month, I had my Bariatric Support Group meeting. I didn�t think they would end up being such a big deal to me. But they have become one. I guess mostly in part because I am still so fresh out of surgery (I just hit the 3 month mark four days ago) and in part because I feel so attached to all of those who attend regularly. Not to mention the fact that they are really informative!

Tonight, a co-worker�s daughter joined me in going. Her Mom and Dad whom both work with me just on a different shift said their daughter Nichole was thinking about it. Hearing that, I wrote Nichole a five page letter in detail of what it took for me to make that decision and all that has occurred because of it. All of the changes that have transpired and what not. Then I told her parents about tonight�s meeting and I guess she was pretty excited about going. I didn�t think she�d show for some reason. But she did. It was a bit awkward- briefly. Only because although I knew Nichole, I didn�t �know� her as in to call her up to do lunch or anything. But Nichole is the kind of person that once you get to be around her for five seconds, she�s pretty easy to talk to and charming. Turns out we have a lot in common.

The meeting was a good one tonight. It was all about exercise and fitness. Which was at the perfect time for me since I have just been considering joining a gym or fitness center now that I am able to, and more importantly need to start working out regularly and develop a fitness regimen for myself. The invited speaker was very informative and had printed packets of possible exercises and stretches. She also provided stretchy rubber band type workout props that we got to keep. So that was kind of cool! I am even more excited about starting to work out. I just now have to figure out where to join up and who offers the best programs. I am thinking that maybe I might hire a personal trainer to develop programs for Shawn and myself designed to our own body�s type and needs.

I have reached another major milestone in my life- as crazy as it seems to some. For anyone who knows me at all, I am always talking about having a boob job done because I have always been such a big woman with such tiny, tiny boobies. (I just know any man reading this at this point is giggling himself silly right now at the mention of boobies. Ha. Ha.) I have never been voluptuous to any degree to say the very least. And my goal in life was just once to have a guy walk up to me and talk to my chest. Just once, damn it. Well, that didn�t happen� yet. However, my B-cup boobies are now being noticed! My belly has shrunken enough to make them more visible and a few of the guys at the shop have commented. Man, has that ever made my day! (I told you it was crazy!)

I wish I could put to words all that I feel. There is such an overwhelming amount of joy, happiness and peace surging through my thinning body. When I went into this surgery, my only hope was to not lose sight of who I was. I didn�t want to change the inner me, only the physical me. But now, I realize that was an insane wish. I am still me to a certain point. And yet, a whole new me is also emerging. A more confident, happier and damn lucky me. One who realizes her second chance at life for what it�s worth and wants nothing more than to make the most of it. And I truly believe I am off to a damn fine start!

So Ladies and Gentlemen�. ::tips her beverage of choice:: here�s to second chances! And to new beginnings!

Simply,

Sara

0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Here's to second chances... - 2004-10-21