Diabetes and Me?!
Bitched at 8:35 p.m. on 2004-07-12

Currently Feeling: nervous, anxius, skeered, excited...
Currently Hearing: XM Radio! Yeah, baby!
Currently Craving: something sweet!

I have had so much going on lately. For the past week being a vacation week from work, I had to laugh when Shawn told me last night that he couldn�t wait to go back to work so he could relax again. And he�s right, we scheduled way too many projects to do into one small week which left us busting our asses to try to get it all done before we had to go back to work. My goal was to have it all done Friday, so we could at least have the weekend to relax. That didn�t quite work out as I had planned. But as far as the remodeling goes, I am very pleased with the results. Even excited about the new wood shop we�re making in the garage. It�s the debris and chaos left behind in our wake that has me stressed. But sooner or later (unfortunately, it will be later most likely) it will all be put back together and then everything will be nice looking.

My stress levels have reached an all time high. The last doctor�s appt. I went to, the doctor retested my blood due to elevated liver enzymes. Well those were still high, but they figure that when I lose the weight those should go down. But my sugar was high. So he sent me home to fast overnight and then return for more blood work. I fretted over that and it turns out with good reason� my sugar had not gone down even with fasting. I think the norm is 120 (I could be wrong) and my blood sugars were over 260. So now I am officially a diabetic. And scared out of my mind actually.

Hello, My name is Sara and I'm a diabetic.

I have to do what I have deemed the �pokey-pokey� twice daily. That�s where I have a device that pokes my finger to draw the blood which I put on a test strip in a machine that shows my results in 5 seconds. I�m doing okay about that. And today was a good day. This a.m., my sugar was only 184 and before dinner it was 160. A relief to me.

I have to go back Wednesday to go over my results of my self checks with the Doc. And hopefully he still says I�m clear to have surgery. He said last time that he has every confidence that after surgery, my diabetes will disappear. Friday, we have an appointment to talk to the anesthesiologist and then after work I have to go in for another sleep study to see if a CPAP machine will work for me. (I hope I don�t need one. Ugh!) Monday, I have my Pre-Op meeting with my surgeon and Mary Kay. And if all of that goes well, (and damn it� after all I have been through I would hope The Big Guy Upstairs would cut me a little slack) they operate on Wednesday.

I�ve been doing a lot of thinking, a whole boat load of praying, and wishing on all the stars that I can be operated on on Wednesday and that I pull through without any problems so that I can get back to normal as soon as possible. Whatever the hell normal is anymore�

Pray for me guys. I need all the help I can get!

Simply,

Sara



0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Diabetes and Me?! - 2004-07-12