Gay Marriage... My stand
Bitched at 8:01 p.m. on 2004-03-24

Currently Feeling: Argumentative
Currently Hearing: The voices in my head...
Currently Craving: Ding Dongs (The chocolate kind silly!0

Gay Marriage� it�s been in the papers everywhere. It�s been on every news channel from here to Timbuktu and back. It�s being talked about by all types of folks all of different ages, races, creeds� and the only thing I think anyone can agree on, is that it�s a subject that most people will never agree on. For me- it�s a matter that hits close to home. So I have been giving it a lot of thought lately. I mean, gay marriage was never something I made myself think of. Never actually weighed any pros or possible cons. But due to the media hype, I have been thinking about it a lot lately.

I have had quite a few friends throughout my life that have been gay. My mom�s best friend is gay. Shawn�s family has quite a few gay people. (It�s a HUGE family) My gay friends always referred to me as their favorite �Fag Hag.� My friend referred to me as a �Fruit Fly.� Call it what you want if you must� I just call myself Me. I have never been one for stereo-typing or labeling people. Te way I see it, everyone has a birth certificate, a DNA string and a heritage. The birth certificate gives them a name. Their DNA gives them they physical traits and personalities. And their heritage is like a treasured hand bag or a diamond ring. It accentuates what you already have. We are who we are. We don�t need labels and categories. After all, we�re all unique in our own ways, right?

For most people, gay marriage boils down to their religious beliefs. I can�t say the same about me. Not to say that I am not a religious person, because I am. But as some have often said- I have my own religion. After studying it all for so many years, I took a little of each religion that I believed in and molded those thoughts and ideas into one main theory. Does this theory have a name? Nope. Can I explain it? If you have years to sit and read or listen.

I will go as far as to say that I believe how a person goes to Heaven is not based on how many good deeds they have done, how much monies they have donated to worthy causes or how many times they had their fannies parked in a pew at their church of choice at the ass crack of dawn every Sunday. I don�t believe a person goes to Hell because they committed �X� amount of sins, didn�t donate one penny and didn�t sit in church often enough, if ever. And I do not believe in purgatory where your family might be able to buy your way out or in any kind of limbo at all. Not even in the slightest! What I believe, is that yougo where you go because of what�s in your heart.

Another one of my beliefs, and it has been scientifically proven I�ve heard- is that Gay people do not choose to be gay. I think it�s genetic. I think then when ever baby is born, they�re either gay or they aren�t. For me, it really is that simple. I don�t think someone wakes up and decides, �Hmmm, think I�ll turn gay today.� And I don�t think a teenager turns gay just to spite their families. And I truly think that anyone who thinks that is ignorant. (Ignorant meaning uneducated.)

Not only has science now figured this out, I�ve seen it for myself. For instance Shawn�s sister Samantha. I grew up with her. I have known her since she was a tiny little thing. (Still has her �Little Head� too. LOL. Love ya, Sam{antha}) I used to tell Shawn so many times over the years that she was gay. No one ever believed me. I don�t know how I knew exactly, I just did. It�s not like she went looking up other girls skirts or anything. Sam finally came out a few years back. Shocked the hell out of her Momma and her big bro. I honestly don�t know how they couldn�t know. But hey� love is blind.

My sister Lisa has been known as �straight� all her life. Some of the people close enough to her knew she had bi-sexual curiosities. But now, 24 years into life, she is in a woman and woman relationship. I won�t use the term lesbian because my sister is not. Not that being a lesbian is bad or anything. Just that my sister likes men, she likes women and well, it�s back to that stereo-typing again. The most awesome thing about my sister Lisa is this: She does not discriminate. Not when it comes to love. She gives it freely. Sometimes, I�ve thought a little too freely. But hey, I got a beautiful and amazing niece and a wonderful and cherished nephew out of the deal. So I won�t begrudge her her love.

But I guess I am straying was outside of the lines on my original subject matter. Gay Marriage. I say, Why not? If you ask me, Love knows no boundaries. It doesn�t see color, it doesn�t see religion it doesn�t have to see sex. And that�s what I adore about this emotion. Love does not discriminate. It is contagious, and it brings joy. Why would we deny uniting two people in love because they both have innies or both have outties?

I had to laugh when I saw on the news where someone said that Gay Marriages put heterosexual marriages in jeopardy. That�ll be the day! Heterosexuals out there aren�t racing to the nearest gay bar to find a gay person to marry because all of a sudden their heterosexual dating pool dried up. And I assure you that whether or not we allow gay people to wed one another, they won�t be rushing to the closest straight bar to marry a heterosexual just for the sake of being married.

You know that age old saying, �Live and let live?� Well I have one along that same line, Love and let love.� If love doesn�t discriminate, why then should we?

A cartoon I saw in a local paper the other day about Gay marriages had me chuckling. Two old men sitting on a park bench, one and says to the other, �What do YOU think about all these Gay Marriages, Homer?� Homer replies, �Well, Vern- I say let �em marry damn it! They have a right to be as miserable as the rest of us!

Touch�!

Simply,

Sara



2 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Gay Marriage... My stand - 2004-03-24