Ramping up for gastric bypass surgery
Bitched at 6:41 p.m. on 2004-03-14

Currently Feeling: overwhelmed
Currently Hearing: Suga, Suga by Baby Bash
Currently Craving: anything and everything sadly.

Well, it's all definitely ramping up now. And I will admit, the hardest part of this whole phase in my life was in fact making the decision to have the gastric bypass surgery. It's an option that was suggested by my Doc 2 years ago. And one that for the past 3 years, I have been struggling with emotionally. No surgery is ever easy. With each one, there are always benefits, sure. But they also all have their own set of complications or adverse affects. And this surgery has it's fair share, I assure you. But a couple of months ago, Shawn and I went in to see my doc. And I told him that I was ready. I want to have the surgery. So after measuring my Body Mass Index (BMI), which is 53.5%, which meets the criteria... he then referred me to a local surgeon who I have had before much to my relief. And I( was able to get the proverbial ball rolling. My surgeon will be Dr. Roche Featherstone. A doctor who removed an abscess pocket from my under arm last year. Dr. F. was a wonderfully kind, thorough doctor and I was glad to be referred to him. I take comfort in having a doctor I am at least a little bit familiar with. I called his office and his nurse practitioner, Mary Kay got back with me within the week. She was very kind and eased my nerves immensely. We talked about the surgery bit, why I opted for it and then set up an appointment for me to join in on an orientation you have to go through first. That is next Tuesday for me. Then she sent me a packet in the mail that weighed a ton and asked me a gazillion questions on medical history and what not. Also a list of family history on medical problems. I even have to write an essay on why i opted to have surgery. It also contained a list of all of the many hoops I would have to jump through before having surgery. I have since met a few of those demands. I have written my essay that one day i will most likely share here. it was a very emotional writing for me and I shed a few tears in the process. I really opened up and shared some very personal, very raw emotions. I also met with the nutritionist on Thursday of last week. Oh me, oh my. I mean, I knew when i walked in there that she's a "Food cop" in a manner of speaking. but I have to admit, she put my nerves to rest after a few minutes of chatting. I mean, i thought for sure that she would tell �em that I would have to go to everything fat free. And fat free food items for me are nothing more than a mere gimmick and a bad joke. I have heard so many people tell me that "fat free isn't that bad. you get used to it!" Ha, ha fucking HA! To me, one thing has remained true in life... "Fat free = Flavor Free." But to my amazement and total delight, as soon as I mentioned fat free foods, she scoffed and said oh no, that fat free foods were horrible. I quite agree. I wanted to kiss her when I heard those words elave her mouth. yes, indeed. But in life, I have always been told that "All good things will end.." and this proved true in my visit with the Food Cop. You see, she told me that my diet would have very few limitations really. (I swear I heard horns and trumpets at this point followed by an angelic chorus of "Hallelujah!") However... the few limitations were strict and important to follow. Understood. Limitation #1: No more straws. okay, absurd as this must sound, I guess that when you use a straw, you swallow air and that will be bad. ok, I guess I can see that. Also, you swallow much more and faster... bad also. So I can see it. Although it will take some adjusting as I have sensitive teeth and almost always use a straw when drinking a cold beverage. Limitation 2: NO SUGAR! None! have mercy! No more peanut M & M's... no more desserts unless sugar free. No more... chocolate. I almost cried. I shit you not. But I guess what happens is that after surgery, when you have sugar, especially in concentrated amounts, your stomach registers the concentrated sugar and will send fluids from all over your body rapidly to your stomach to dilute the concentrated sweetness which is what is called "Dumping." Which causes you to become ill and either vomit or get the runs. EWWWWWWWWW! Limitation 3: No drinking of fluids 1/2 hour before or after eating. This tool will prove difficult. I always drink with my meals. I drink more while eating than at any point through the day. And also, along with drinking, you have to sip, not chug. I have never been a sipper. So that's gonna be something to adapt to. Limitation 4: Absolutely no more soda or carbonated beverages. Why not just kill me now and call it good? take this cow out to pasture and put her out of her misery? it'd be much cheaper, I assure ya. I don't drink many other things aside from soda. Bad, I know. And I knew I would have to cut down. but cut it out.. completely? Until i moved out on my own at the age of 20, i was force fed gallons of water, glasses of milk and for the off drink was allowed kool-Aide. none of the former can i tolerate much anymore. The "Food Cop" told me it's for my betterment of my health. Suuuuuuuure. someone even said to think of it as adding years on to my life. Heh. years added with no sugar, meals with no fluids to wash them down and clean my palette for the next bite ad no soda pop? They might be adding years.... but miserable ones. Bland ones at that. Ahhhhhhhh, the miseries of living a healthy life. All to live longer, and with any luck, start a family and maybe see my grandchildren God willing. I guess what it al comes down to is sacrifices. Life is about give and take. I am giving an inch, they're taking their miles. But it's for a good cause. A few years ago I decided that I really like life. I love living and leaving my little marks emblazoned on the sands of time. And I love me. I love who I turned out to be. I love who I am. Not enough people out there can say that. So sacrifice I will. because I do want to live as long as possible. And I want those years to be worry free when it comes to my health. but you can bet your sweet ass that I'm gonna bitch. With all that I am having to give up, I am NOT! going to give up my right to bitch. Hey, they have to meet me half way right?! Simply, Sara

3 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Ramping up for gastric bypass surgery - 2004-03-14