Sara in the City
Bitched at 1:55 a.m. on 2003-08-03

Currently Feeling:
Currently Hearing:
Currently Craving:

Hello, Diarylanders! I am writing from my family's home. I made god time getting here last night. Both of the boys fell asleep along the way- so much for keeping me awake on the drive down, eh?We set off later than expected. We didn;t leave until 12:45 a.m., and didn;t leave the gas station 10m minutes from home until after 1 a.m., but due to my driving skills, and oh yes, I have found that I do have them, we pulled into Saginaw a mere 2 hours later. I was a lead foot to say the least. Well, when i could. The road was oh so open, and there wasn't any traffic to be seen.

However, when they say we have 2 seasons here in Michigan- Winter and Construction- they were NOT kidding. The minute I hit the freeway it got crazy. I thought my migraine pills had made me loopy. Loopy I was not. There were blinking orange lights screaming high atop their caution orange construction barrels. Blinking signs, reflective signs, etc. At one point, about a 1/3 of the way thru the trip- I thought I had finally reached the end of the construction. oe so the last sign had said... Then I took the exit I needed.

There was another sign: Construction: next 125 miles. EGADS! Who's idea was this trip anyways??? But alas, we made it. My legs were screaming to be stretched. My belly running on fantasies of a home cooked meal, and my migraine reminding me that there are indeed little men with jackhammers just trying like holy hell to get out thru my skull. Never mind the hand that from somewhere deep within my head was clutching at my eyeball and squeezing it something fierce!

But, despite all of that... I'm so glad I came. My sister Lisa didn;t believe that i would. I showed her! Oh yes, I did.

We all retired to our sleeping areas. My brother in my absent sister gena's waterbed. My sister Lisa to her bed. My niece Cassidy to her bed. And me to the couch.

I was hotter than hell. Hungry like no one could imagine. And so NOT tired. I made my way in this not familiar house (My Dad just bought this one) to the bathroom in the dark. A very narrow room with small crates that I tripped over, a magazine rack I think I broke a toe on, and then a toilet to which my fat bare ass worked it's way into because my brother left the seat up.

All business cared for there, I groped my way out careful to avoid any near death accidents to make my way to the kitchen. 2 stepped on plastic dinosaurs and a pair of sandals tat sent me sailing ironically into a light switch, I gave p being poilte. I turned the damn light on. I found a salad and some chinese food that I helped myself to and ate as I read.

Belly full- I hit the couch. Very carefully! (Ya never know what lurked in there! I was sure there'd be a toy something I'd sit on and have to have surgically removed from my rectum...) I laid toosing,turning and sweating. Then switched ends of the couch. When that didn;t work, i moved to the well worn in futon. Ya know what well worn in futons are like to sleep on??? Concrete. Wait, that might be softer. But alas, there was a fan and I managed to sleep.

For 2 hours. Then I heard Carter and Cassidy in the living room. Smelled waffles in the toaster. And had a parakeet scampering across my face. Poor bird, not used to these conditions and with lack of sleep, I gave her a flying lesson all my own. I apologozed later. She pecked my head a few times. I think that means we're friends?!

All jokes aside, it's been a great visit. We're all broke and can't afford to pay attention. But as my Dad reminded us a gazillion times in his stand aganst sobriety- he had all his kids together. And we were.

We ate, we talked, we joked, we did sibling things. Somtething we 4 haven;t done in a damn LONG time. Our other 2 brothers even got to come over for a short visit.

I didn;t get to catch up with Mick- a high school friend I had hoped to catch. nor did I catch up with Sabrina. Beacause I got her e-mail just now. But I had my family. And that just rocked.

We've managed to rekindle the sibling rivalry, have a few sibling minded spats, and just be a family again.

And as for being back in the "big city?" Well, they can have their city with its noisy cars, the sirens, the crazy houses piled one atop the other.

Funny how once, when we had moved up north, I used to turn on NYPD Blue to go to bed just to hear the city sounds so I could sleep. Now? They keep me awake.

I'll take my crickets serenades over this hustle and bustle everyday.

But I won;t trade in my family.

.... I'm home. At least where my heart is. Home is the run down trailer in the small hick town with my big comfy queen sized bed and a huge sugar butt waiting for me...

simply,

Sara

0 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Sara in the City - 2003-08-03