Parenting mayhem
Bitched at 11:06 p.m. on 2003-07-01

Currently Feeling:
Currently Hearing:
Currently Craving:

I'm in a much better mood than I have been in days. A few dark moments have shadowed my day. But I am trying to just let them run off my back and keep rolling with the pounches. Which since being on my anti-depressant, seems MUCH easier these days. I know pills aren't the answer for everyone. But they work for me when nothing else would. I'm on extremely low dosages right now, which will graually be increased. But even the small dosage now, is helping quite a lot. More than I could have ever dared hope for. Which reminds me, I forgot to take my "Bitch" pill today... better do that. (yes, I refer to them as bitch pills... they keep me from being a bitch!)

Today I crawled out of bed early as Shawn's Mom's van broke down and I had to go pick her up from work at 11 a.m. After I got that out of the way, I came home, showered and relaxed a bit before heading out for a fun filled afternoon leaving Shanw behind to work on his Mom;s van and veg all he wanted to.

I met Tammy up at work as I wanted to talk to the boss about a couple of things, but he didn't get there as early as he normally does. Tammy showed up right on schedule and we loaded up into the car with the boys and headed out.

After running a few errands, we went to her friend Kathy's house where Kathy highlighted Tammy's hair and we gals sat and shot the shit. I was excited just to get to hang out with Tammy as we've been promising each other too hook up for well over a year now- since we met actually. But our schedules have just conflicted 'til now.

I tell ya, Tammy is a trip. And her friend Kathy is too. They were both quite pleasant and refreshing company. I wish it could ahve lasted longer. We shot the shit about anything and everything. And when the kids went to the park finally, we were able to talk women to women like without prying ears and inquiring minds.

Kathy talked about how her Mom hurt her a bit when she made a comment about Kathy leaving her two girls (Totally adorable ones at that) for a weekend and going off to see her boyfriend... or something along that line. I know I don't have it exact. But i think I got the gist of it....

Well,that got me to thinking about ALL young single parents really. You see, In Kathy's situation, her boyfriend lives down state. So it's not like they can see each other on a daily basis. And from what I can gather, she has NEVER left her kids or shunned them off on people repeatedly to do this. But she was thinking and planning a month in advance to go away for a whole weekend to spend time with the guy she loves. (Or something like that) I guess her Mom was concerned.

I feel for Kathy. I don't have any kids (and not for lack of trying either), but my sister is a single Mom of two children also. And I know we all meddle.

It just got me to thinking... where does life as a parent end and life as a woman with needs begin? Is there a happy medium or is a single Mom doomed to a life of solitude and longing? Is it not okay to say, "Okay, this weekend, I am going to find a sitter, take off and do something for me."?

I realize all too well, that when you have kids and become a parent... you need to put them and their needs first. And I do realize that that means you ahve to sacrifice a LOT for your children. And every parent is freely willing to do so for the most part...

But when do we decide the kids are old enough to understand that Mommy, or Daddy even, perhaps both if possible, need time to be an adult? Do we have to wait until the kids are adults themselves before we resume any kind of normal activity among people who watch more than Sesame Street and Dragon Ball Z... to dine with peoiple old enough to no longer need bibs... go out with people old enough not to hollar at them to go wipe their fannies because they made a pooh in the potty?

I have the utmost respect for all the parents of this world who have given so much time, effort and love into these tiny, living, breathing beings who are born of the hearts of their parents. They endure hours of baby talk, endless reruns of Bob the Builder and Blue's Clues... and let's not forget the parents of the Barney and TeleTubby era.

But i thibk, for people like my sister Lisa and for women like Kim... it's perfectly okay to find a sitter and walk away guilt free for a weekend. To find themselves amongst adults once again and converse about whatever it is that tickles their tongue when spoken. To have a drink with peers, get all dressed up and paint the town red. All without the prying parents or anyone else who seems to think these parents don't deserve it.

Kim appears to be a wonderful Mom to two very beautiful girls. They were well behaved, pleasant and seemed rather happy. Sure, they'll miss their Momma for the weekend. But they'll get over it. And in time, they'll understand. Her kids are old enough to be with a sitter for a weekend. Hell, I even offered my services if they should ever be needed.

After all, every parent needs a break. I think if they get stuck too long in the world of the little ones... it can take it's toll. Mommies and Daddies need breaks too!

So to all you parents out there... get the hell out! Find a sitter! Dress in your Sunday best! And ENJOY a weekend, night, or few hours out on the town. Whatever you can spare. Life is just too short!

And to the parents of the world who are constantly meddling... tell your children I'm starting a tee shirt business- and my very first run will read:

My Mom (or Dad) is a Travel Agent for Guilt Trips!

I'm off to enjoy the rest of my evening...

Simply,

Sara

1 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

Parenting mayhem - 2003-07-01