surgery update
Bitched at 6:38 p.m. on 2004-07-28

Currently Feeling:
Currently Hearing:
Currently Craving:

Most of you know already and for those who don't, this is an update to how I am doing as of late. I am one week out of my gastric bypass surgery to the day. In fact, tomorrow, I get to go have my drain and staples removed... hoorah!

The surgery went well enough, I am told taht there were some recovery issues as I spent more time there than anywhere. Something about my oxygen levels giving them a fright. But finally, I was able to open my eyes and see my sisters and Shawn all there. I can't tell you the emotion that raced through me... just knowing I made it- man, what a feeling.

As far as the surgery itself, that part was successful. I was left with a stapled incision. (25 staples) and a Jackson Pratt drain protruding from my belly that has to be emptied from time to time. I can honestly say that the pain factor is at a minimal point. I think I have more pain from the way I have to sleep (sitting up on the couch on an angle- not comfy at all) than anything else.

Tomorrow is a big day for me. My Dad and the kids will be taking me in to the surgeon's office to have my drain and staples removed. I'm praying it doesn't hurt, but at any rate, I want thse out so bad I don't care anymore.

As far as me, I am doing well. Far better than I ever dared to expect. I am taking 2 or 3 walks a day and each time making it further and further. I get around better and better every day. I still have some mood swings from time to time. But I have NEVER regretted this choice at all. My sister always asks me if I regret it or would I undo it? Not on your life. I've come a long way to get where I am. And I've still got a long way to go. The only difference now, is that I know it's going to be a much smoother, healthier, happier journey!

Thanks for all of your well wishes...

Always,

Sara

5 bitches

Yesterday's Bitching | ^ | Tomorrow's Bitching

NLatest
NOlder
NRandom
NProfile
NMail
NNotes
NBook
NNotify
NMore
NDesign
NHost
800x600|IE 5.0+|Design �hg88|Words �Sara

surgery update - 2004-07-28